Geoscience BC Appoints Four New Directors to the Board

October 14, 2014 - Geoscience BC is pleased to announce the appointments of Mr. Brad Armstrong, Ms. Susannah Pierce, Mr. Randy Smallwood and Mr. Dallas Smith to its Board.

Brad Armstrong, QC, Partner at the firm Lawson Lundell LLP, has extensive experience in civil litigation, aboriginal law, administrative and constitutional law, and environmental law. He represents clients involved with land use issues, project development, regulatory approvals, environmental assessments, First Nations consultation, and litigation, in a range of natural resource industries. Brad is a regular contributor to the Project Law Blog, a resource that updates proponents on developments in the law and policy, and teaches a course in Oil and Gas Law at the University of British Columbia.

Susannah Pierce is External Affairs Director of LNG Canada -- a joint venture of Shell, Mitsubishi, CNPC and Kogas. Susannah is responsible for integrating risk management across the technical, non-technical, and commercial aspects of the LNG Canada project related to social license. Prior positions with Shell included Vice President Value Chain Integration for Shell Canada, Vice President Communications Upstream International based in The Hague, and Head, Government Relations in Canada. Before joining Shell in 2009, Susannah was head of US Public Sector Affairs for TransCanada Pipelines based in Washington, DC and New York City.

Randy Smallwood is the President and CEO, and one of the founding members, of Silver Wheaton Corp. In 2007, he was appointed Executive Vice President of Corporate Development, and subsequently, President of Silver Wheaton in January 2010 and CEO in April 2011. Randy started as an exploration geologist with Wheaton River Minerals Ltd. and in 2001 was promoted to Director of Project Development. Following the merger with Goldcorp, Randy was an instrumental part of the team that built Wheaton River/Goldcorp into one of the largest and most profitable gold companies in the world. He is now focused on adding to Silver Wheaton's impressive growth profile.

Dallas Smith is the Founder and President and CEO of the Nanwakolas Business Corp. and the Nanwakolas Council, a cutting edge First Nations organization that protects and manages First Nation cultural values while working to increase sustainable opportunities and employment through building strategic opportunities and partnerships with Government and industry. He serves on several Boards, including the Island Coastal Economic Trust, and advisory committees including the Premier's Council on the Environment. He also serves as the Vice President of the BC Amputee Golf Association, and works with both the Wounded Warriors program and First Swing clinics with military veterans. He is a member of the World Disabled Golf Team and has competed and won golf tournaments all over the world.

The new Directors join continuing Directors: John Thompson, PetraScience Consultants Inc. and Chair of the Board; Robin Archdekin, President and CEO, Geoscience BC; Michael Cathro, Principal of Cathro Resources Corp. and Vice President of Exploration for Virginia Energy Resources Inc. and Anthem Resources Inc.; Richard Dunn, Vice President, Regulatory and Government Relations Canadian Division, Encana; Geoff Freer, principal of Firth Group; Calvin Helin, a member of the Tsimshian Nation, President and CEO of Eagle Group of Companies, LLC and Orca Spirit Publishing & Communications Inc. and President of the Native Investment and Trade Association; David Molinski, Policy and External Affairs Lead, Kitimat LNG, Chevron Canada Ltd.; and, Stephanie Killam, Mayor of the District of Mackenzie.

Four Directors are leaving the Board at this time: David Caulfield, P.Geo.; James Gray, partner of De Visser Gray Chartered Accountants LLP; Brian Kynoch, President, Imperial Metals Corp.; and, David Taylor, Executive Vice President, Exploration and Business Development, Parex Resources Inc. Mr. Gray will continue to serve in the role of Treasurer. Geoscience BC extends its gratitude for their dedicated service.

"The Board of Geoscience BC plays a critical role in guiding the strategic development of this organization, which continues to develop and deliver programs that result in broad benefits across the Province. We extend our sincere thanks to outgoing Directors Dave Caulfield, Jim Gray, Brian Kynoch and Dave Taylor for their efforts and commitment to Geoscience BC and welcome the appointments of Brad Armstrong, Susannah Pierce, Randy Smallwood and Dallas Smith, who through their wide-ranging experience bring new viewpoints to our Board", said Dr. John Thompson, Chair of the Board of Geoscience BC.

For more information about Geoscience BC's Board, including full biographies, please visit our website at

For more information, please contact:
Robin Archdekin
President & CEO
Geoscience BC
(778) 995-4660

About Geoscience BC

Geoscience BC is an independent, non-profit organization that works to build the British Columbia economy through generating, interpreting and publicly distributing earth science information for everyone.

Follow Geoscience BC on Twitter at!